Skip to content

I’ve been absent

July 18, 2017

I’ve been absent from my life as well as this blog. If you’ve read this before, you may know that I only post occasionally, when I have something to share, rather than keeping to a set schedule. And it’s been a long time since I’ve shared anything.

Here’s why— I’ve been really sick this year. First, in January, I had a planned hip replacement surgery– to fix the problems with the unplanned one from 2014. That surgery went well, and I’m walking much better now, and in much less pain. But, two things happened. One, my surgeon found that a small piece of my femur had broken off and was floating around, only attached to a muscle. For the time being, he and I have decided to leave it alone even though it will leave me with a limp. The other thing was the biggie— they found a mass on my lung.

I’m claustrophobic, and can’t take the MRI tests, so diagnosis was difficult. They finally figured out that I had a carcinoid tumor which doesn’t normally spread. In April, I had surgery to remove the tumor, and they had to take the top lobe of my right lung with it— but I don’t need chemotherapy or radiation and I’m cancer-free! Well, to doctors it’s more like, “the dangers of chemo and radiation are greater than the chance that your tumor will come back, but we still need to monitor you every six months for a couple of years, and yearly after that.” But my translation is that I’m cancer-free.

  • Bronchial carcinoids account for up to 5% of lung cancers. These tumors are generally small (3-4 cm or less) when diagnosed and occur most commonly in persons under age 40. Unrelated to cigarette smoking, carcinoid tumors can metastasize, and a small proportion of these tumors secrete hormone-like substances. Carcinoids generally grow and spread more slowly than bronchogenic cancers, and many are detected early enough to be surgically removed. (http://www.webmd.com/lung-cancer/lung-cancer-types#2)

It’s July and I’m still recovering my strength from that operation, and for awhile I was very sick, but now I’m well enough to work again on the computer.

That’s why I’ve been absent from my life.

Now I’m slowly, mindfully hitting the reset button.

Watch this space.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Laurie Monahan permalink
    July 18, 2017 3:49 pm

    SO glad you are getting better!!! Hugs!!!

    • purpleswirlarts permalink*
      July 18, 2017 3:50 pm

      Thanks, Laurie!

  2. Judell permalink
    July 19, 2017 8:16 am

    Thank you for sharing a glimpse of this involuntary “detour” on your life’s journey- I’ve been watching you for awhile now and am always inspired by your resilience. Where harrowing experiences can hollow out other people’s spirits, they seem to deepen yours.
    “Illness as Metaphor”, Susan Sontag’s essay written while she was recovering from cancer in 1978, is one of my favorite “good reads” recommendations. It’s about what society ‘does’ to people that makes it harder for people to recover their lives from disease that threatens their survival. I hope you get a chance to find the whole thing on-line and also the tenacity to give it a look if you have the time (or inclination). Here’s the first paragraph:
    “Illness is the night-side of life, a more onerous citizenship. Everyone who is born holds dual citizenship, in the kingdom of the well and in the kingdom of the sick. Although we all prefer to use only the good passport, sooner or later each of us is obliged, at least for a spell, to identify ourselves as citizens of that other place.”
    You have not been absent from your life my friend – only detained temporarily from the one you’ve been so ardently and earnestly creating with art and hope. Thanks for allowing us to tag-a-long for the ride!

    • purpleswirlarts permalink*
      July 19, 2017 11:12 am

      Thanks, Judell. I always enjoy how you pull in more, of yourself and others you hold in you, to deepen and enrich the things I share.

Leave a Reply

