Skip to content

Arrrgh! Writer’s Block!

June 18, 2016

A lot of bloggers keep to a schedule– once a week or once a day. I’ve never been able to do that. I only write when I have something I really want to share with my readers.

Pat and me, May 2016.

Pat and me, May 2016.

I’ve been trying now for a couple of weeks to write about the fantastic week I had in Chicago just before Memorial Day weekend. For the first few days I visited with my cousin, Pat, in Lake Bluff, Illinois. We haven’t seen each other for more than 30 years. It was nice to reconnect with her, and through her and her kids, reconnect with my mother who died in 1995.

Then Pat drove me into the city to attend the De’VIA Elders Reunion Conference and Exhibit at Columbia College Chicago. I’m really glad I went– it was not only a good time, but a great process to re-examine the four-day workshop where De’VIA was born in 1989 and see how De’VIA has grown since.

But I’ve been stuck. Yes, I have other things to do in my life, and I’ve really been busy. But I’ve also tried to write and couldn’t. I even purposely haven’t returned some emails because I don’t want to dissipate my thoughts and energy about this. I did, though, have dinner soon after my return with my friends Carolyn and Judy. I commanded all the attention that night, telling them all about my experiences in Chicago– but I haven’t been able to get that energy onto the page. Last night, I vented about this to Judy, and she replied this morning:

Judy and me, last winter.

Judy and me, last winter.

Nancy:

Boy, now I’m wishing that you were filming me when I held court at Carolyn’s about the reunion conference. What I’m writing feels so dry compared to what I told you. I haven’t had such a hard time writing for quite awhile.

Judy:

You’re expressing yourself in a different mode now with an audience you can’t see– and one that can’t see that you are charming. Without our rapt attention encouraging your spontaneity, you feel you’re trying to capture ideas as slippery as fish with your hands– instead of making them leap from your hands on the wave of your joy at expressing them.

Writer’s block — how I sympathize 😕

Be nice to yourself with tea and dessert– inspire yourself by rereading something that you wrote previously under the spell of eager transport of ideas buoying you along. Without that feeling, the heavy sinking sensation will be hard to escape every time you look at a clock.

Btw– thanks again for our girl’s afternoon out– I really needed to stop writing for a bit so I could stop trying so hard. When I felt better about myself, it was easier to more efficiently release my ideas about each child I was documenting.

Sorry for all this blather! Catch up with you later 😘💕❗️

BLATHER??? Thanks, Judy! This support was like getting a shot of B12. I sat down and just poured out unconnected ideas and memories, and got down the most important points I want to get across. So that was a breakthrough. Now, I’ve got to pull it all together into a post you can read sequentially. Give me a couple more days for that.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Norman permalink
    August 24, 2016 3:05 pm

    Please contact me via willowriverglobal@gmail.com … (from your past in Texas !)

Leave a Reply

