Skip to content

Writing is exploring

April 19, 2010

I recently lamented to someone that I wish there was an easier way to get my thoughts from my head to my blog. I think about possible blog posts while I’m driving, or watching TV, and then I come to the computer and do everything else here– everything except write. Here it is, well past Easter and Passover, and my last post was before Christmas.

I just remembered something I saw on TV when I was a teenager (and lipreading the folks on TV). I was watching the Dick Cavett show (I never did like Carson) and Cavett was talking with a guest about writing. They were talking about how they start reading everything in sight to avoid starting to write, even the cereal boxes. I was in high school and I was doing the same thing. Now, it’s even easier to distract myself because the same tool I use to write is also my window on the world and there’s a lot to read here! Instead of cereal boxes, it’s now tweets and blogs. Doesn’t matter that I enjoy writing and it’s part of my identity. It’s STARTING to write that is hard.

So, even if it’s short, even if nobody reads it, I’m going to post more often. Because I need to get my thoughts out of my head. I once told someone that I don’t always know what I think until I write it down. That’s because when it’s in my head, I go over and over the same territory. Writing it down is like exploring and creating a map as I go along.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2010 12:52 am

    I agree with you. We should be wrting a lot 🙂

    • April 19, 2010 1:37 am

      Yeah, thinking about writing a lot doesn’t get me anywhere. And as they say in the design world, it’s easy to come up with a good idea. Taking that idea and making it real and doing it well is what’s hard.

Leave a Reply

