Skip to content

meh. For those folks who aren’t crazy about Christmas

December 17, 2009

meh, humbugmeh. When I came out with my line of t-shirts with its tongue sticking out, meh was a new word to me. It’s been one of the most popular items we sell. Meh is an adjective meaning apathetic, unenthusiastic, mediocre, lackluster, unexceptional, uninspiring. And since I”m a lipreader, the image came to me immediately.

This year, I came up with a Christmas card.

Christmas is a difficult time for many people, for a wide variety of reasons. Maybe they’re not Christians. Or maybe they’re poor or newly broke. Perhaps they grew up in an alcoholic home where the expectations of the holiday made the drinking and fighting worse than usual.

Once I did the image, I started thinking about the words for a greeting inside. And I came up with so many variations, both positive and negative, that I decided to leave it blank so you can write it yourself. This card works whether you or the recipient feel apathetic about Christmas. Here are some of the ideas I came up with to get you started.

Yeah, I know, you’re Jewish.

Crass materialism, meh.

meh, humbug

That’s how I used to feel about Christmas, until I had Christmas with you.

The card is available in two of our shops, Zazzle and Cafepress.

http://www.zazzle.com/purpleswirlarts*

http://www.cafepress.com/purpleswirlarts

The two shops have different pricing structures. On Zazzle, a single card is $2.95, 10 cards are $22.50, and 20 cards are $35, but you can choose whatever amount you want. On Cafepress, a single card is $3.95, a box of ten cards is $16.75 and a box of 20 is $27.75, and you can only get those quantities, or multiples of those quantities (such as 5 cards, or 2 boxes of 20). On Cafepress you can also get t-shirts. On Zazzle, you can get a tie. So keep an eye on specials, and shipping dates and costs to get the deal you want.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

