Skip to content

Twitter musings

July 21, 2008

Maybe it’s because Twitter isn’t in my pocket on a pager; or maybe it’s because I’m basically an introvert and while I love the people I love, being with them can drain my energy rather than give me energy; but I don’t (yet) get the community aspect of Twitter.

I’ve read up on it, and I know I have to follow people and have them follow me to develop a community and to meet people online. But I’m not feeling it yet. I did read an interesting article today, though, that I learned about through one of the people I follow on Twitter, purplecar. This article is by spiral-scratch and reinforces the experience of twitter as a community chat room. http://spiral-scratch.blogspot.com/2008/07/those-who-dont-create-critique-those.html.

Maybe it’s because I’m following DeafRead on twitter and that’s basically a lot of links to deaf people’s blogs and vlogs and isn’t in and of itself personal. DeafRead uses twitter as promotion, and since it’s a group of editors, there’s no one personality that emerges on twitter. Or perhaps it’s because when I follow someone, or check their page when they follow me, I feel like I’m only catching snatches of conversation– kinda like when I was the only hard of hearing person in the room and would try to follow the talk, but could only lipread one person and was basically left out of the conversation as a whole. Not a good feeling.

The community aspect of twitter is something I do want to understand, but don’t want to give the time to it right now. In fact, I need to get back to work. My current tweet says I’m working on deadline, so gonna get back to it now.

P.S. I’ve more to share about De’VIA at the NAD Conference — Chuck Baird wrote up a story. But I need to finish the database I’m working on today so will get back later with more info on De’VIA.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 21, 2008 4:45 pm

    HI PurpleSwirl!

    I hear you and spiral-scratch. It can be a bit daunting to find your community on Twitter. I’m having a hell of a time finding writers, myself. Twitter right now seems dominated by techies and marketers, like you said. Millions more are signing up. Use summize.com to search for things you are interested in, e.g. ‘write’ ‘writing’ ‘painting’ then follow some of the people in the list. Start there and let me know how it goes. You are right to stay away from the idiocy on Twitter, but your ‘peeps’ are there, it just takes some time to gather them together. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

